National Holidays
Language Courses



Malta is an island country near the centre of the Mediterranean Sea, about 95 kilometers south of Sicily. It is an archipelago (group of islands). It contains three inhabited islands: Malta, Gozo, and Comino, and three uninhabited islets: Cominotto, Filfla, and Selmunett (St. Paul's Isle).

Malta is one of the most densely populated countries in the world. Low hills with slopes cut by terraced fields make much of Malta resemble a series of giant steps. The balmy Mediterranean climate attracts many visitors.

Tourists also come to Malta to see the remains of some of the world's oldest Neolithic temples, as well as some of the world's finest examples of Baroque and Renaissance art and architecture. Malta was once a British crown colony. In 1964, Malta became an independent country.


A Short Background

Great Britain formally acquired possession of Malta in 1814. The island staunchly supported the UK through both World Wars and remained in the Commonwealth when it became independent in 1964. A decade later Malta became a republic.

Over the last 15 years, the island has become a major freight transshipment point, financial center, and tourist destination. It is an official candidate for EU membership.



Location: Southern Europe, islands in the Mediterranean Sea, south of Sicily (Italy)
Geographic coordinates: 35 50 N, 14 35 E
Population: 394,583 (July 2001 est.)
Ethnic groups: Maltese (descendants of ancient Carthaginians and Phoenicians, with strong elements of Italian and other Mediterranean stock)
Religions: Roman Catholic 91%
Languages: Maltese (official), English (official)
Currency: Maltese lira (MTL)
Currency code: MTL
Exchange rates: 1 EURO to Maltese Lira: 0.43092 (April 2004)


 Action 5.1 activity 9 “Support for quality and innovation of the Program Youth.”
Project no: 5.1/R1/2003/06 Made by Hienet working Teams in cooperation with T.E.S.